Reminder: Dog Show this Saturday! Dogs only!

I just wanted to remind everyone about the dog show this Saturday! I’m so excited I can barely breathe!

Yes, it’s Byron City’s first dog show ever! And as such, naturally I’ve been getting a lot of questions, so I’ll use this opportunity to field some of them right now.

Q. When is registration due and how much is it?

A. It is due by Friday night, but we’re willing to take you Saturday just before it begins if you’re really sorry 🙂 Registration is $20.

Q. What type of animal can we enter into the show?

A. It seems like a silly question to me. Please, only DOGS in the dog show. No cats, bunnies, birds, ferrets, iguanas, mice (please PLEASE no mice), opossums, snakes, or mystery animals. Dogs only.

Q. Come on, a mystery animal would be cool! You just show up with a black box with a mystery animal inside and reveal at the last minute to the judges. The crowd would love it!

A. That may be, but this is strictly a dog show. No mystery animals.

Q. What will you do if the dogs start fighting each other? Will you let it continue? And can we watch? And can we bet on a winner?

A. No, there will be no dog fighting at the dog show.

Q. Can I bring my dog as a spectator.

A. Yes, of course!

Q. Can I release him if he sees another dog he’d like to breed with?

A. Sigh…no. There will be no dog breeding at the dog show.

Q. Are you sure? Because with all these great dogs, it would be a shame to…

A. I’ll stop you right there. No breeding. Period.

Q. Can I have any unclaimed dogs at the end of the show.

A. I don’t think there will be any unclaimed dogs, but if for some strange reason there is, no, you can’t have them. They will go to animal rescue and be adopted by a loving family.

Q. Do you know Sarah McLachlan?

A. No, why?

Q. Because you both love dogs and are into animal rescue.

A. I don’t see how that would mean I would know her.

Q. Oh, ok. Do you have to live in Byron City to enter?

A. Yes. Residents only.

Q. What about my Uncle Steven.

A. Does he live in Byron City?

Q. No.

A. Then no, he can’t.

Q. Why not?

A. I just told you, because you have to live in Byron City to enter.

Q. But he has a really great Ferret I think could win this thing.

A. I told you before, only DOGS in the dog show.

Q. You didn’t tell me that before.

A. Yes I did! It was one of the first questions you asked me!

Q. What’s the prize for Best in Show?

A. I’m glad you asked, that’s a great question. It’s a $500 Visa Gift Card and $200 worth of credits at my pet grooming salon, Faux Paws. You’ll probably get a picture in the newspaper, too.

Q. Is that all? I don’t win any of the dogs who lost?

A. What is your obsession with taking other dogs home from the dog show?

Q. I’m the one asking the questions here.

A. I think I’m going to have to ban you from the show.

Q. I wasn’t going to go anyways.

So there you have it. In short, I’m very excited for the dog show, and I had to ban 7 people from coming. But it will still be amazing! There are 26 dogs registered, including mine, so if you wanted to participate and haven’t signed up yet, get going! Email me or go to City Hall to register. I’m getting my dogs all fluffed up and ready to go. See you there!

4 thoughts on “Reminder: Dog Show this Saturday! Dogs only!

  1. Pingback: Byron City News Digest: Accusations of Doggy Racism, 85% of Easter Eggs Unfound, Man Holds Up Gas Station with Sarcasm | The City of Byron City

  2. Pingback: Who Will Be the Next Mayor of Byron City? (Part 2) | The City of Byron City

  3. Pingback: Recap – The First Year of Byron City | The City of Byron City

  4. Coralie Reinhart – I love your pics of the dogs! Do you ever go down to the Beagle rings? I am so missing our girl Binky, She is Al-Cor’s Sweet Song of Great Oaks, this is her first wneeked with a Handler, and AI am hoping the weather is good, the dogs are good and everyone has a good time. I just wish I were there too.

Leave a Reply

