Jean Mangus Gets Key to City for Going Viral

Jean Mangus, center, getting the key to the city from, right to left, Deputy Mayor Brian R. Havig, Mayor Charles "Chuck" Barther, Sir Ryan, and other members of the city counsel.

Jean Mangus was given the Key To The City in a ceremony last night for writing Byron City’s first ever viral blog post. The ceremony took place at Town Hall and included Mayor Charles “Chuck” Barther and members of the city council.

Two weeks ago, on February 27th, Ms. Mangus wrote a blog entitled “The Market’s Yogurt Selection Has Improved Lately.” The blog was showcased on Word Press Freshly Pressed, and thus received thousands of views and over a hundred comments from fellow yogurt enthusiasts.

Upon receiving the key to the city, a visibly proud and confused Ms. Mangus said, “I’m proud to receive the key to the city. What did you say about going viral? Should I be concerned?”

Most of the comments on the blog post were favorable. “Love the Stoneyfield Farm yogurt, so good and good for you : )” said Carlie Chew, blogger and yogurt enthusiast.

“We definitely need more people that voice what they want to see in grocery stores. You inspire me. :)” said Sarah (last name withheld).

“I agree!” said dhasty01.

Some comments were not so complimentary. “I’m happy for you that you got Freshly Pressed. But I really fail to see how this is worthy of the distinction. There are thousands of bloggers out there putting out insightful, emotional, and/or downright hilarious material out there. Unless, there’s a whole lot of irony or tongue-in-cheek humor here, all I see is someone when to their store and noticed some new products,” said thefoodandwinehedonist, blogger and Kanye West fan.

Others slammed the city of Byron City itself for its conservative take on yogurt. “What kind of town do you live in that JUST got Chobani? No offense, but wouldn’t want to live there,” said Rob Rubin, blogger and Byron City hater.

But the overall impact of Peggy’s blog has been astounding, as daily visitors to the blog has moved into the double digits, and citizen’s participation to the blog has increased.

Mayor Charles “Chuck” Barther said he was delighted to see that this City Blog experiment was finally starting to bear fruit. “My doctor makes me eat yogurt,” said Mayor Chuck.

5 thoughts on “Jean Mangus Gets Key to City for Going Viral

  1. Hi Claire. Your picture is cute and I live about 30 miles from your fine town and would like to come over and deliver some yogurt………as I am a part-time yogurt delivery man. I’ll be leaving from my hometown of Throbbers Nob and will be there in about an hour. You will know me by my swarthy, unkempt, toothless look..

  2. Its a pity Katie has to do battle with women’s maanziges like Cleo cosmo that are ultimately the forefront of women’s thinking of how to control talk to your man like a battle. Mind u, without those maanziges with nasty manipulative thoughts put into women there would be no seminars to get over that anger mind stirring. I guess Katie can split her commissions with those feminist magazine editors just like Bush Cheney split their fees with Bin Laden when they wanted $ for war their stocks

  3. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I am unable to subscribe to it.

    Is there anybody getting similar RSS problems? Anyone
    that knows the answer will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

